a little fourth of july craft

ImageI’m not a huge holiday decorator, but I do like a couple of things out to reflect whatever season is upon us.  I found this cute little Fourth of July craft several years ago.  I’m not really crafty and this was just the ticket for me to find my inner Martha Stewart.  Seriously, anyone can do this.  All you need is a 2×4, a little sandpaper, some red, white, and blue scrapbook paper, and Mod Podge.  The lettering is totally optional.  I have a Silhouette cutting machine and used white vinyl for the star and black vinyl for the God Bless America.  You could also use precut letter stickers and cut a star out of your white scrapbook paper.  I don’t have a step by step picture tutorial, but seriously, I think you can handle this.

If you have a saw, cut two 7 inch blocks and three 3.5 inch blocks.  If you don’t have a saw, the friendly people at Home Depot will cut it for you.  They say there is a charge, but I’ve never been charged.  Just make sure you put on a bit of extra mascara for when you bat your eyelashes.  After they’re cut, sand them down just a bit. 

Cut your scrapbook paper just a tad smaller than your blocks.  For the red and white, I used a woven paper to give it more of a cloth look.  For the blue, I found this awesome denim paper.  It reminds me of cut-offs, an essential in my childhood summer wardrobe. 

Apply the paper using your Mod Podge.  Don’t over do it, but don’t be chintzy either.  Smooth your paper out nice and neat.  Let it completely dry.  It won’t take long.  If you’re using a paper star, apply that now, again with Mod Podge.  If you’re using vinyl, skip to the next step.

For a weathered or aged look, lightly sand the edges of your paper.  Do a little, take a step back, do a little more.  Just remember you can always sand more, but one the paper is sanded off, you’re done.  So go easy.

If you’re applying vinyl or stickers, do so now and you’re done.  Pick a fun place to display your amazing crafty talent or give it to a friend. 

Leave a Reply

