a mom’s best friend

A while ago, I was talking with my sister about this cough Muffa couldn’t seem to lose.  He was usually okay during the day, but night was another story.  I was sleep deprived and desperate.  I had even used an over the counter medication — something I rarely do.  Anyway, my sister suggested using vicks vapor rub on his feet.  While I liked the idea of not putting any funky chemicals in his body, I was a little uneasy after finding out what was in vicks, so I went on a mission to find something a little more natural, and oh am I glad I did.  This is super easy, natural and best of all, effective.  It truly has become my best friend during cold season.

All you need is some coconut oil for your base (other oils will work as well, but coconut is by far my favorite all purpose oil) and peppermint, eucalyptus, and rosemary essential oils. 

Image

To 3/4 cup coconut oil add

  • 30 drops peppermint oil
  • 30 drops eucalyptus oil
  • 14 drops rosemary oil

Image

Then mix it all together.  You can either do it by hand or I prefer to use my handy dandy immersion blender with a whipping attachment.  It makes the final product really creamy.  After it’s all mixed up, I like to transfer it to an 8 ounce canning jar — the squatty one, it’s just easier, trust me.

Image

I apply it every night before the kids go to bed regardless of whether or not they are coughing.  I put it on both feet and then cover with socks.  I also put it on their backs and chests.  It can be a bit messy, so I have them put on an undershirt before putting anything else on.  During the day, I apply as needed.  This stuff is amazing.  Within a couple of minutes of applying, all coughing stops.  Here’s to coughless kids and rested moms. 

One thought on “a mom’s best friend

  1. This is my favorite trick, too. I think it was Randy’s mom that shared it with me, via Sarah. I figured out it was my sinuses that were to blame and have since used saline solution every morning and night. That stops the nasal drip and the cough. Great post.

Leave a Reply

