best.deoderant.ever

Keeping with the hippie theme of yesterday – homemade deodorant.  Oh yes, it totally works.  In fact, it’s by far the best deodorant I’ve ever used.  I’m not kidding.  I’ve been using it for I don’t know how long.  I come back from my run after having used it the morning before and nothing, no sticky whatsoever.  There’s really nothing else to say other than it’s all natural, no funky chemicals, and you can pick your own scent.  Oh, actually, there is one more thing I can say, it’s super cheap to make.  I love that.

Image

Here we go —

¼ cup baking soda

¼ cup cornstarch or arrowroot powder (I used cornstarch just because I have a ton of it and can’t cook with it – gmo corn you know)

¼ cup coconut oil

10 drops of essential oil of your choice (optional) — whatever oils you like – lavender, cloves, lemon, the possibilities are almost endless

I like to mix the dry ingredients prior to adding the coconut oil.  I’m not sure it’s totally necessary, I just like to make sure everything is evenly distributed.  Add the coconut oil and mix it all up.

Image

Next add the essential oils of your choice.  Last time, I used Stress Away because you may not know this, I’m a bit high strung, and I work myself up over things far too often.  It’s bad, I know, I’m working on it.  This time, I used Thieves which naturally kills bacteria.  Coconut oil does the same thing, but I like the way it smells and stress sweat (remember the high strung thing) is extra stinky, so I used it just to be on the safe side.  Back to the deodorant, make sure it’s nice and smooth.  When it’s done, it’s the consistency of frosting.  Mmm, frosting.  Put it in a small container (little mason jars are perfect) and you’re ready to go. 

Image

When you go to put it on, just rub a little in.  You don’t need much.  If you’re used to stick deodorant, this can be a bit funky, but totally worth it given the results. 

Image

Just a quick note on coconut oil, it melts at 76 degrees, so when it gets really hot, you may want to move it to the fridge so everything doesn’t separate.  I always forget it’s in the fridge, so I just keep a little popsicle stick in the bathroom and give it a quick stir before I put it on if need be.  Easy peasy lemon squeezy as Thomas likes to say.

2 thoughts on “best.deoderant.ever

  1. We use this same recipe! We’ve been making our own deodorant for quite a while now, and we’ve all been so much happier with the way it works compared to store bought products that are filled with so many unpronounceable chemicals! In the winter months, our deodorant tends to solidify. To make it a little easier to use, we throw a few droplets of water onto the top and work it in a bit. Wonderful product!

    • thanks for the tip. that’s a great idea. i’ve used old deodorant tubes in the past, so that hasn’t been an issue. but it’s a pain. if i can use just a bit of water, I’m all for it.

Leave a Reply

