make your own mayonnaise — are you serious?

Image

Yes, I’m totally serious.  We don’t use a whole lot of mayonnaise around here, but we do on occasion.  I went to the store to buy some one day and made the big mistake of looking at the ingredients.  Boo, nasty gmo soy and canola everywhere.  What was this granola eating, flip-flop wearing family to do?  Make our own of course. 

Most of the recipes I found called for the same canola oil I was trying to avoid.  Finally, I found one that we all really liked with only minor tweaking.  Let me say making mayonnaise is really easy IF, and it’s a big IF, you have the right equipment.  The right equipment being an immersion blender (also known as a stick blender).  I tried to use my regular blender with disastrous results every time.  I know others do it all the time, I just don’t have the patience to drip a cup of oil into the blender a few drops at a time as I don’t like mayonnaise that much. 

Anyway, I know you’re totally dying now to learn how to do it, so let’s begin.  Gather your ingredients.

Image

1 whole egg

2 egg yolks

2 tsp white vinegar (most recipes call for 1 Tbs mustard, but no one liked it at our house except me)

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice (or bottled)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/2 cup virgin coconut oil (melted if solid)

1/2 cup virgin olive oil

Place the eggs, mustard, lemon juice, salt, and pepper into a glass container and mix.  I love the pint sized wide mouth mason jar that way I don’t have to transfer it after it’s made. 

Image

Add your oils.  You can dump them in all at once, or slowly add them with the blender running. 

Image

As the ingredients combine, you will see a definite change in the consistency. 

Image

Slowly lift the blender up.  Keep blending until you’ve got a jar a mayonnaise.  It takes just a couple of minutes.  Sometimes there is a little oil left at the top that doesn’t get totally mixed.  If this happens, just blend it in with a spoon.

Image

There you have it.  A yummier and healthier alternative to what you find in the store, all in just five minutes.

One thought on “make your own mayonnaise — are you serious?

  1. Pingback: a super yummy ranch dressing (that isn’t a total pain to make) | Blissful Homestead

Leave a Reply

