homemade toothpaste — nasty, but works great

When I was a kid, my dad used to brush his teeth with baking soda and hydrogen peroxide.  I thought he was a nut, but actually, he was really onto something.  I started making my own toothpaste about a year and a half ago after doing some research on fluoride.  Long story short, not good for the body. 

At first, Greg and I were the only ones using it.  Then one day, Hayden gave it a whirl and asked me to make some for him.  I was really surprised because it tastes so yucky, but he went on and on about how clean his teeth felt after brushing with the homemade toothpaste compared to the store bought toothpaste.  Then I asked Hailey to make some and the process of making it herself got her on board.  Now it’s what we have in the kids’ bathroom as well.  I haven’t been able to sell the little guys on it, so for now, they’re using Nature’s Gate Natural Toothpaste

Image

I know you’re thinking — I need my fluoride.  Here’s my story.  All of my life I’ve used fluoride toothpaste, and my teeth are horrible.  I hate going to the dentist.  Well, the last two times I’ve gone, no new cavities and my gum scores have significantly improved.  I still don’t enjoy going to the dentist, but having healthy teeth definitely makes it easier.  So if you want to take a walk on the hippie side of the life, here’s an easy way to start.

Image

Mix equal parts coconut oil and baking soda.  It’s best if the coconut oil is in at least a semi-solid state, but it doesn’t have to be.  I generally start with 1/3 cup each.  Mix it together.

Image

You can actually stop right there if you want.  The other ingredients are optional, but I do recommend them.  To the baking soda coconut oil mixture, add two teaspoons hydrogen peroxide (the regular stuff you find at the drugstore) for whitening, 8 drops of stevia and five or six drops of your favorite essential oil to make it not so nasty tasting.  I like to use Thieves for another layer of germ killing as well as for the flavor.  Peppermint would be great.  I’ve also known others to use lavender oil although that does not appeal to me at all.  Mix it all up, and you are ready to go. 

Image

Dip your toothbrush in and brush away.  No need to worry about spreading germs while sharing the same container.  The coconut oil will take care of that.  Just a couple of notes, you may need to stir things up a bit when the temperature increases.  Also, because of the oil, your sink will get kind of yucky, so be prepared to scrub just a bit harder and maybe a bit more often to keep things nice and clean.  There you have it.  Here’s to a bright, healthy, hippie smile.

4 thoughts on “homemade toothpaste — nasty, but works great

  1. I read your post and went into the kitchen to make up a batch, and discovered that the world has come to an end. We’re out of coconut oil! Oh, the shame!! As soon as we get some though, I am definitely trying this recipe. We use the Arm & Hammer Baking Soda toothpaste and Mom likes to use plain baking soda with a few drops of tangerine oil. We’ve always (until now) got coconut oil, baking soda, peroxide, and essential oils on hand, so we’re definitely going to give it a whirl. It’d be really nice to shave the almost $8 a month off the grocery bill! We’ve heard of people omitting the Stevia. What are your thoughts on this ingredient? Is it a must, or can it really just be omitted?

    • oh good, i’m glad this was of use to you. don’t fret at all about the stevia. it’s actually something i just recently started adding hoping that it would make the toothpaste more appealing to my kids. i think if it were just for me, i’d leave it out. it does take away some of the yucky, but it’s not that yucky. good luck. i’m anxious to hear how it works out for you.

      • Okay. We got the coconut oil today and I made our toothpaste! Honestly, the taste wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I used tangerine oil for the first batch. We will definitely be using the homemade stuff from now on. Thank you so much for the post!!

Leave a Reply

