using my failed attempt at sunflower seed butter to make something absolutely wonderful

Image

So as it turns out, it wasn’t a complete failure after all.  I was able to use my failed attempt at sunflower seed butter in a very yummy new recipe from Nourishing Bites.  Other than making the sunflower seed butter part, it was super fast and easy.  Despite being full of healthy ingredients, I got several “mmm”s and “thanks for making these for me mom.”  I’d say the granola balls as they are now called in our home are a big hit.  Here’s the tweaked recipe. 

Image

1 cup old fashioned oats

1 cup unsweetened coconut threads

1/2 cup ground flax seed

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup sunflower seed butter (or any nut/seed butter)

1 tsp vanilla

a pinch of salt

Mix the dry ingredients together. 

Image

Add the butter, honey, and vanilla.  Mix thoroughly. 

Image

Form into balls.  It makes about 24 to 30 balls depending on how much you eat as you go along.  Not that I did that of course.  You may need to add or subtract some of the honey depending on how well the balls stick together.  That’s it.  Store in an airtight container in the fridge.  The only thing I would have done differently is made more.  They are that good.  I hope you enjoy them as much as we do. 

Leave a Reply

