taking a minute to slow down

I’ve been grouchy all morning.  Have you ever had those days?  I’m grouchy because I over scheduled myself — again.  I rushed through feeding the animals murmuring the whole time.  I threw together a smoothie for the kids’ breakfast.  It had plenty of healthy things in it, but no love.  I managed to get through our homeschool classes, but I’m not sure how much actual learning happened.  I ran to Wal-mart (my least favorite store on the planet) and purchased a couple of birthday party gifts, got them wrapped,  but wasn’t able to share in Thomas’ excitement.  I slapped together some peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for lunch and hurried the kids along so I could get them down for their naps. 

I took a quick breath as I laid down with Muffa and realized I could have had a really nice morning, but I chose not to.  I was so concerned about what I thought HAD to get done, that I skipped over the things that really matter.  I was reminded of a quote by President Dieter F. Uchorf, “We would do well to slow down a little, focus on the significant, and truly see the things that matter most.” 

In that light, that’s all I have for today because I am going to slow down and focus on what really matters.  I’m going to make some mayonnaise for Greg.  It’s not part of the schedule today, but that’s okay, it’s what matters most right now, and you can bet there will be a lot of love in it.

One thought on “taking a minute to slow down

  1. We need to take one day at a time. I have to realize that with Dad. I got the taxes sent to the county for property reduction sothat made me feel better. Thinking of the clothes I’m taking to Utah in 3 days. Dad’s a little packed also. Love you Kath, Love Mom

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

