our week — 19 aug

No, we didn’t move into our underground bomb shelter, I just said yes to WAY too many things last week and something had to give.  Like usual, it was the blog. 

On the school front, the older kids completed their first full week of school.  Everyone is doing great.  Hayden has decided that he wants to get straight As this year.  So far so good.  For the first time in his life, his grades are better than Taryn’s and he is loving every minute of it.  Hailey’s enjoying her last year of elementary school.  I have to admit, I am enjoying the feeling of knowing that this is her last year in elementary school.  It’s no secret, I’m not a fan of public education, and I particularly don’t like elementary school.  But that’s another story for another day.

The little ones started school on Monday.  Thomas is starting his year two program and Muffa is doing our equivalent of kindergarten. 

ImageImage

Thomas is really excited to be back in action.  I was a little worried that last year might have been a fluke.  Not so.  He’s doing great and is learning so much.  I couldn’t be happier with our curriculum choices.  I’ll post more on that later.

Muffa is not quite as excited.  He has the attention span of a pea, but he’s definitely starting to catch on.  That’s the wonderful thing about homeschooling.  You can totally cater the pace to each individual student.  A teacher with 28 students (if they’re lucky) simply can’t do that.  He’s breezing through his math work, creeping along with reading, and enjoying popping in an out of Thomas’ studies especially when we’re doing science experiments and our (I say our because I’m learning as well) Latin lessons.

Down on the farm, still no babies for Eve.  We totally thought she was for sure going to deliver last week.  Now that I think of it though, she’s kind of an eager beaver when it comes to building her nest so more than likely it will be this week. 

Greg pulled out the last of the spring garden this week to get ready for planting our fall garden. 

ImageMost of the fruit that was left on the vine was unable to fully ripen.  It was just plain too hot.  All those watermelons we were totally looking forward to eating will probably end up as goat food.  So sad — for us, not for the goats.  I kid you not they come running, RUNNING, whenever I come out of the back door in anticipation of being fed something yummy. 

Speaking of the girls, they are getting downright chunky.  We’re so hoping for many little doelings. 

Image

On the family front, we had a fun week.  We instituted a mandatory game night.  Everyone has to stay and play games with the family for an hour before they can go our for the night on Fridays.  We played Cloud 9 (thanks Emma and Tim) and Thomas and I totally won.  It seems like we are so busy all of the time between school, church, and chores around the homestead, that family fun gets pushed to the back burner.  No more.  It was really good for us just to be together without really doing anything other than enjoying one another.

Sunday we spent some time with Greg’s dad celebrating his 81st birthday.  We had a nice visit.

ImageWe also celebrated Muffa’s birthday with some pizza and chocolate zucchini cake topped with cream cheese icing and fruit slices — not real fruit, those nasty gumdrop fruit slices (totally Muffa’s choice).  Can’t say that I’ll ever make that again, but Muffa was pleased as could be. 

I can’t believe little Hunny Muffin is 4.  How time flies.  I keep this picture at my desk.  Every time I look at it, I fall in love with my sweet little boy over and over.  How could you not.

Image

That’s it for around here.  I hope you’re finding as much joy in the ordinary as we are.

2 thoughts on “our week — 19 aug

  1. Charlie said today, “i want to go play with Hunter and play swords at his house. i like playing with Hunter. he’s my friend.”
    a happy birthday to him from all of us. we are huge fans of the muffanator.

Leave a Reply

