homemade taco and chili seasoning

Yesterday afternoon I ran to pick up Hailey from school, grabbed some groceries, made a stop at the library, swung by and picked up Taryn from school and got home with just enough time to throw dinner together before a bunch of cub scouts showed up at my door.  Man was I glad a had some of my homemade taco and chili seasoning on hand so I could make some tasty chili.  It has become a total staple.  I use it all the time, so much so that my kids make fun of me.  I found the original recipe here.

Image

Homemade Taco and Chili Seasoning (yields 2/3 cup)

4 tablespoons chili powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (I skip this, we’re kind of sissies)

1 teaspoon dried oregano

2 teaspoons paprika

2 tablespoons ground cumin

1 tablespoon sea salt

4 teaspoons black pepper

Mix it all together and store in an air tight container at room temperature.  It should last for a year (mine never makes it that long, so I can’t verify.)

Use about 1 1/2 tablespoons per pound of ground beef, chicken, rabbit, goat — whatever you use.

It’s also really good to sprinkle on veggies that have been sauteed in olive oil.  Roll your veggies up in a whole wheat tortilla with a little cheese.  Yum.  Hey, that sounds good, I think I’ll make that for dinner.

Leave a Reply

