whole wheat cranberry lemon biscuits

Every once in a while you come across a recipe that you have to make right now it looks so good.  So it was with this recipe I found at Schneider Peeps.  Holy cow, these biscuits are so incredibly tasty and wonderfully easy to make.  I do have to mention that since they are made with whole wheat flour they will taste “healthy.”  If your family is just starting out on a healthier eating lifestyle, you may want to do half whole wheat flour, half white flour.  The whole wheat flour wasn’t an issue for us — obviously because we ate the entire batch in a day (mind you there were only four of us home).

ImageWhole Wheat Cranberry Lemon Biscuits

1 ½ tbsp freshly grated lemon zest (or 2 tbsp dried zest)
2 ½ – 3 cups freshly ground whole wheat flour
½ cup evaporated cane juice (sugar)
1 tbsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
6 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 ¼ cups fresh or frozen cranberries, chopped
1 egg
½ cup milk
 
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
 
Mix 2 1/2 cups flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, butter and zest together until the mixture resembles course meal.  Just a couple of notes — One, I used a fork, but I think after making these, I’m going to purchase a biscuit cutter.  Two, I made these on a whim and didn’t have any lemons so I used 10 drops of lemon essential oil (make sure you use one that is food grade, many are not).  Mix in cranberries until they are coated.
 
In another bowl, lightly beat egg and add milk.   
 
Add liquid to dry mixture and combine.   
 
If mixture is too wet, add a little more flour. 
 
Drop by spoonfuls onto lightly greased cookie sheet or cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  I highly recommend parchment paper.  I just started using it a year or so ago and I LOVE it.  No sticking and clean up is a snap. 
 
Bake for 15-20 minutes, until lightly browned. 
 
Makes about two dozen.
 
Mmm.  I can’t wait to make these again.  I’m thinking if you wanted to make them truly decadent, you could swirl a little lemon glaze on them.  I’ll update when I try it.
Leave a Reply

