love one another

I’ve had quite a few experiences this week that have led me to ponder over the phrase “love one another” as taught by the Savior (John 15:12)

 Thomas was asked to give a talk in church on showing our love for God through serving others.  He talked about how his brother, Hayden, always helps other players up after they get tackled on the football field — even those who aren’t on his team.  He spoke of his sister, Hailey, playing catch with him when he got tired of watching the football team.  And he remembered the stranger that stopped to help us get Greg’s father into our car after the game (it was no easy task).  

Monday, Thomas asked me who I was going to cheer for in the big race.  (Hailey, Thomas, and Hunter are planning a big race and the two little ones have been practicing for a week).  I replied, “All of you.” 

“But Mom,” he said “you can only cheer for one.” 

Not liking where this was going I responded, “I guess none of you.”

Thomas wouldn’t let it drop, “Mom you HAVE to cheer for someone.” 

Before I could even think of what to say, Thomas looked at me and said, “Why don’t you cheer for Hunter, he’s the youngest and the slowest.”

Yesterday was my birthday.  It was a great day.  My sweet husband goes to work pretty early.  He got up even earlier than he usually does so that he could take care of the animals for me.  My day was filled with cards and phone calls, visits and emails, and homemade bread and flowers.  I was truly touched by them all.  What a blessing it is to be surrounded by people that love me. 

All of these things illustrate the point made so beautifully by King Benjamin when he said, “And behold, I tell you these things that ye may learn wisdom; that ye may learn that when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God” (Mosiah 2:17).

I know that it is hard to see the love in the world right now when we are bombarded with news of man’s inhumanity toward man.  (I couldn’t watch the video, reading was enough for me.)  But there is love, lots of it, and love is what we need to hold on to if we are going to make it.

 

One thought on “love one another

  1. Sorry I missed your birthday! I suck. I love you for billions of reasons and know that God in his mercy allowed me to be your vt companion so I could learn from your awesomeness. Love you! Xo

Leave a Reply

