a super yummy ranch dressing (that isn’t a total pain to make)

I’ve been meaning to post about this for a while, but I had to get my courage up.  You see I’m an Aggie — a Utah State Aggie to be precise.  Here’s the fam on top of the famous USU True Aggie A on our most recent trip to the motherland.  ImageAs an Aggie, I can’t like anything about Brigham Young University, but I have to say, BYU Creamery’s ranch dressing is pretty darn good.  Thanks to Jillee from One Good Thing, we can now make it at home (and no one will know our association with BYU). 

You mix the spices up ahead of time so you basically have a quick and easy alternative to the ranch in a bottle you get from the shelf which is kind of scary.

ImageRanch Dressing Mix

1/4 cup black pepper

1 1/2 cup parsley flakes

1/2 cup garlic salt

2 tablespoons salt (I like Real Salt, holy cow is it good)

1/4 cup granulated garlic

3/4 cup granulated onion

2 tablespoons dill weed

Combine and store in an airtight container.  It will make about 3 and 1/2 cups of mix.  It will last FOREVER.  Trust me, we eat a lot of salad and I’m still working on my first container.

Image

Ranch Dressing

1 and 1/2 cups mayonnaise (click here for a really good homemade recipe)

1 cup sour cream

1 cup buttermilk (Don’t keep buttermilk on hand, me either, put 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar in a measuring cup and fill to the cup line with milk.  Let it sit for 5 minutes and you’re good to go.)

1 teaspoon lemon juice

2 tablespoons ranch dressing mix

Wisk together and refrigerate for a couple of hours.  Makes a quart.

Play around with the amount of milk you use.  The original recipe calls for almost twice as much milk, but I found it just a tad too runny for me.  Hope you enjoy. 

Leave a Reply

